Showing posts with label Lenny's got friends?. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Lenny's got friends?. Show all posts

Friday, August 14, 2009

Lenny Vs. A Gift Horse

Lenny Vs Logo

So last night I met up with my cousin “Glen” and his soon-to-be “Jen” (not their real names), at Islands in Encino. They got there before me, and almost as soon as I sat down “Jen” pulled out her iPhone and started pecking away at it. All the following quotes in this write-up are as close to exact as I could remember, but even in the parts where I paraphrased, the gist is still the same.

“Jen”:

“Oh, here, I wanted to show you something. Hopefully it’s working because I couldn’t get in earlier”

“Glen”:

“What do you want to show him?”

“Jen”:

“His favorite thing.”

Me:

“Big fat tits?”

“Glen”:

“Wow, really? That’s your favorite thing?”

Me:

“That actually surprises you?”

“Jen”:

“Okay, your second favorite thing.”

A look of puzzlement blankets “Glen’s” face.

Me:

“Pumas!”

“Jen”:

“Yep.”

“Glen”:

“So those are your two favorite things? In that order?”

Me:

“Yeah, and my third favorite is tri-tip.”

“Glen”:

“So tits are your number one favorite thing? Interesting.”

Me :

“Actually, I said big fat tits are my favorite thing…But you know what, I take that back, if a girl is offering, I’ll take ‘em any size I can get ‘em. Who am I to look a gift tit in the nipple?”

“Glen” & “Jen” in unison:

“Huh, what?”

Me:

“I won’t look a gift tit in the nipple”.

“Glen”:

“I don’t get it.”

“Jen”:

“Yeah, me neither.”

Me (exasperated):

“You’ve never heard the phrase ‘don’t look a gift horse in the mouth’?!”

A Gift Horse

“Glen” & “Jen”:

“No. Never.”

I was flabbergasted, astonished, bewildered even.

And right at the moment, as if on cue, our waitress Gemmika (her real name. Though I might not be spelling it right, it’s phonetically correct. Go see her and tip big, she was a sweetheart) came over.

Me:

“Hi, excuse me, I’m sorry, but have you ever heard the phrase ‘don’t look a gift horse in the mouth’?”

Gemmika (somewhat afraid, because apparently that’s the emotion I provoke in good-looking women):

“Umm, no. Sorry.”

My world was spinning off it’s axis! Did I make the phrase up? Did it really not exist? How can nobody have heard of it?

It’s like I was living in some Bizzaro World!

But no! I wasn’t crazy, I knew what I knew. And I knew I was right.

Gemmika was maybe 19, 22 at the oldest, so that’s her excuse.

But “Glen” & “Jen”? “Glen” will be 32 in January. “Jen” will be 30(?) in December. They’ve both had enough years on this earth to pick up this uber-common phrase. There’s no excuse for them.

Gemmika took our order and left.

“Jen”:

“So don’t look a gift horse in the mouth, but what does that even mean?”

“Glen”:

“Yeah.”

I began:

“When someone gifts you a horse, as in gives you the gift of a horse, gives you a free horse…”

“Jen”:

“Oh, I thought you said a gifted horse.”

“Glen”:

“Yeah, that’s what I thought you said too.”

Me:

“No, not a gifted horse! This isn’t a horse with a high IQ. This isn’t a horse that got a perfect score on it’s SAT’s. This isn’t a horse that’s a member of Mensa. It’s a gift horse. A gift. Horse.”

“Glen” & “Jen”:

“Oh, okay, so what does it mean?”

I explained it to them much as it is explained here:

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/don't_look_a_gift_horse_in_the_mouth

And here:

http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/idioms/don't+look+a+gift+horse+in+the+mouth.html

This origin of the phrase:

http://www.trivia-library.com/b/origins-of-sayings-dont-look-a-gift-horse-in-the-mouth.htm

…backs up my proclamations to “Glen” & “Jen” that “the phrase has been around for ages!”

“Glen”:

“Okay, so what did you say again about a nipple?”

Do you see what I’m dealing with here folks?

I repeated:

“I won’t look a gift tit in the nipple.”

“Glen” grinned:

“Meaning you’ll take any tit that’s offered to you.”

Me:

“Correct.”

“Jen”:

“See, that makes sense.”

Then “Jen” called her friend to see if the friend had ever heard the phrase. She had.

“Glen” refused to call any of his friends, for fear of looking stupid in front of them. It’s always gotta be a pissing contest with this guy I tell ya.

When Gemmika came back with the appetizers she informed us that she asked her co-worker about it. The co-worker was (thankfully) familiar with the phrase, and had explained it her.

As a quick side note, all the damn waitresses at every Islands I’ve ever been to are crazy attractive. I’ll even go so far as to say that the Islands waitresses put the Hooters girls to shame. Granted Hooters takes the title in the “slut” department, but Islands beats them in the “probably won’t give me syphilis” category, hands down.

So I was proven right by “Jen’s” friend and by Gemmika’s co-worker, though that didn’t stop me from having to answer the question “why a gift horse and not a gift cow”. But despite that, it was good to be me…what can I say, it’s these small victories that get me through each day.

But the real cherry on top…would have been getting Gemmika’s phone number, but we knew before we even began that that was never gonna happen…no, the real cherry on top? I come home and sit down to watch an episode of Royal Pains, during which I’m treated to this bit of dialogue:

“Welcome to the world Jill. In my experience, first rule of charity work – never stare a funding source in the mouth.”

- Lenny

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Disrespectful? Moi?!!

Look at me being all international with that title. Now on with it.

I don’t get offended very easily. I get pissed off at the drop of a hat, but to offend me, it’ll take something special.

And that’s what we’ve got ourselves here. But first, the back-story…

The other day I was over my friends house. We’ll call her “Yolanda”.

So “Yolanda” was trying to show me this dating site that her uncle had signed her up for, but for whatever reason she couldn’t log in.

This was when I suggested that she try JDate.

There was a brief protest, but in the end she relented.

I looked on as she began to fill out the various sections now required to simply look at profiles.

Then she got to the “about me” part and nearly scrapped the whole idea.

After some tasteful and creative suggestions of mine were rejected, she decided to just fill it out herself. What she wrote went something like this:

“I’m…blah blah blah, and I also like to try new things, blah blah blah…”

“Try new things?” I said, “don’t put that, you’ll get a bunch of guys messaging you about anal.”

“Someone did yesterday.”

I jumped up (literally) in a fit of laughter. Some twelve minutes later when I was finally able to catch my breath, I naturally declared myself a clairvoyant svengali wizard.

“So who was this guy?” I asked.

“Just some guy I was talking to.”

“So what, you’re chatting and he just randomly asks you about anal?”

“I don’t know, it was late. I had been chatting with him for like an hour and then he asked if he could just call me.”

“Jeez, how late was it?”

“Like 3 a.m.”

“3 a.m.?! Are you serious? I’m surprised he didn’t ask if he could come over!”

She sheepishly admitted:

“He did.”

And another fit of laughter ensued. Followed by a proclamation of solidification of my clairvoyant svengali wizardry.

What you folks can’t possibly know is that my friend “Yolanda” is a bit of a prude.

“So how long had you been chatting online with this guy before you gave him your phone number?” I inquired.

“I had just started talking to him the day before.”

“What??! You talked to the guy for a day before giving him your phone number? Goodness. No wonder he’s talking to you about anal.”

“What, I shouldn’t have?" I don’t know. How long should I have waited? I honestly don’t know.”

And she doesn’t folks. Her prudishness is only matched by her naïveté. So she truly saw nothing wrong with simply having a phone conversation with a guy she just met online. She’s a bright 25 year-old who just got her Masters, but like many of these higher learned folks, she’s afflicted with a touch of social retardation.

But that’s more than enough back-story.

Fast forward two days, when I get a text from her that simply states “you’re stupid”. And cue another fit of laughter, the reason for which shall be explained shortly.

So I call her up to share the laugh, but she’s not having any of it. How could I? I had further ruined her already bad day. Plus more venom along those lines.

She was referring to a comment I had left on her Facebook page.

“It is not funny. It is so not funny. I’m friends with people from work on there. I can’t believe you did that.”

“Um, you’re right, it’s not funny, it’s hilarious!” I countered. “If only you could see it from where I’m sitting.”

“It’s not funny.”

“Yes it is.” We went back and forth like this for a minute or two until this:

“That was so disrespectful.”

Hold the fucken trolley folks! That’s when I flipped. Before I share that comment with you, if you’ve read any of my previous articles, you’ve probably got an idea of my sense of humor. “Yolanda” too, knows very well my idea of funny, and is a frequent recipient (participant?) of it’s end results (i.e. laughter). So that too, I believe plays a part in my becoming offended.

But before giving you my “disrespectful” comment, here’s another comment I’ve left on a Facebook page, this one being my Cousin’s (who also happens to be my best friend):

“Have you succumbed to your love of penis yet, or are you still trying to fight it?”

The only person that got offended (momentarily) was a gay friend of my cousin’s, and my cousin’s a fucken surgeon! Oh, and when his gay friend made a comment about my comment, I asked if he had succumb to his love of vagina.

See folks, I’m a trasher not a basher.

And now, the since deleted Facebook comment that brought you all here today:

“Dear Yolanda,

Would you care for a spot of anal?

Kindest Regards,

Lenny”

I clearly wasn’t asking her for anal! I was sharing an inside joke. I was poking (surprisingly, no pun intended) fun. I posted that with tears of laughter in my eyes, not with a hard-on in my pants, and no, it’s not because I wasn’t wearing pants. It was meant to, at worst, be embarrassing, but never disrespectful.

At most I expected admonishment for being, perhaps inappropriate. But disrespectful? Come off it Yolanda!

Shit like this turns me cold and distant towards a person right quick. I don’t think I’m in the wrong here. As such, I did not apologize, nor do I plan to.

Any thoughts?

- Lenny

**I was thinking of calling this post “Anal on Facebook” in the hopes of attracting more readers, but I stopped myself for two reasons – 1. that would be disingenuous, and 2. it would have given away the ending.